• Nauka
 [1660833]
 [1045240]
   więcej

Kategorie szczegółowe
BISAC
Książki nowe
Codzienna aktualizacja bazy
(cen i dostępności)
Realizacja zamówienia:
ok. 3 tygodni
Książki używane
Wycena na życzenie
Realizacja zamówienia:
ok. 4-8 tygodni

Książki są sprowadzane
z zagranicy

Przedpłata, dla firm FV 14 dni
Nie wysyłamy za pobraniem

Czytaj nas na:



Travel - Middle East - General
sortowanie:


 So Many Enemies, So Little Time: An American Woman in All the Wrong Places Elinor Burkett 9780060524432
At a time when Americans were so riveted by questions about their place in a newly hostile world and were swearing off air travel, Elinor Burkett did not just take a trip -- she took a headlong dive into enemy territories.

Her yearlong odyssey began with her assignment as a Fulbright Professor teaching journalism in Kyrgyzstan, a faded fragment of Soviet might in the heart of Central Asia -- a...

cena: 64,22
    
So Many Enemies, So Little Time: An American Woman in All the Wrong Places
 In the Rose Garden of the Martyrs: A Memoir of Iran Christopher d 9780060935368

The history of Iran in the late twentieth century is a chronicle of religious fervor and violent change -- from the Islamic Revolution that ousted the Shah in favor of a rigid fundamentalist government to the bloody eight-year war with Saddam Hussein's Iraq. But what happened to the hostage-takers, the suicidal holy warriors, the martyrs, and the mullahs responsible for the now moribund...

cena: 64,22
    
In the Rose Garden of the Martyrs: A Memoir of Iran
 Arabian Sands Wilfred Thesiger Rory Stewart 9780141442075
"Following worthily in the tradition of Burton, Lawrence, Philby and Thomas, Arabian Sands] is, very likely, the book about Arabia to end all books about Arabia." --The Daily Telegraph

Arabian Sands is Wilfred Thesiger's record of his extraordinary journey through the parched "Empty Quarter" of Arabia. Educated at Eton and Oxford, Thesiger was...
cena: 56,44
    
Arabian Sands
 The Road to Oxiana Robert Byron Paul Fussell Rory Stewart 9780195325607
In 1933, the delightfully eccentric travel writer Robert Byron set out on a journey through the Middle East via Beirut, Jerusalem, Baghdad and Teheran to Oxiana, near the border between Afghanistan and the Soviet Union. Throughout, he kept a thoroughly captivating record of his encounters, discoveries, and frequent misadventures. His story would become a best-selling travel book throughout the...
cena: 67,94
    
The Road to Oxiana
 Mirrors of the Unseen: Journeys in Iran Jason Elliot 9780312427337

Filling a long-neglected gap in the travel writing of the region, Jason Elliot's Mirrors of the Unseen is a rare and timely portrait of the nation descended from the world's earliest superpower: Iran. Animated by the same spirit of exploration as its acclaimed predecessor, An Unexpected Light, and drawing on several years of independent travel and research, this...

cena: 110,63
    
Mirrors of the Unseen: Journeys in Iran
 Eastward to Tartary Robert D. Kaplan 9780375705762
Eastward to Tartary, Robert Kaplan's first book to focus on a single region since his bestselling Balkan Ghosts, introduces readers to an explosive and little-known part of the world destined to become a tinderbox of the future.
Kaplan takes us on a spellbinding journey into the heart of a volatile region, stretching from Hungary and Romania to the far shores of the...
cena: 71,80
    
Eastward to Tartary
 The Valleys of the Assassins: And Other Persian Travels Freya Stark 9780375757532
Hailed as a classic upon its first publication in 1934, The Valleys of the Assassins firmly established Freya Stark as one of her generation's most intrepid explorers. The book chronicles her travels into Luristan, the mountainous terrain nestled between Iraq and present-day Iran, often with only a single guide and on a shoestring budget.

Stark writes engagingly of the nomadic peoples...

cena: 75,85
    
The Valleys of the Assassins: And Other Persian Travels
 The Southern Gates of Arabia: A Journey in the Hadhramaut Freya Stark Jane Geniesse 9780375757549
In 1934, famed British traveler Freya Stark sailed down the Red Sea, alighting in Aden, located at the tip of the Arabian peninsula. From this backwater outpost, Stark set forth on what was to be her most unforgettable adventure: Following the ancient frankincense routes of the Hadhramaut Valley, the most fertile in Arabia, she sought to be the first Westerner to locate and document the lost city...
cena: 71,99
    
The Southern Gates of Arabia: A Journey in the Hadhramaut
 The Soul of Iran: A Nation's Journey to Freedom Afshin Molavi 9780393325973

Iran thundered onto the world stage in 1979 with an Islamic revolution that shook the world. Today that revolution has gone astray, a popular democracy movement boldly challenges authority, and young Iranians are more interested in moving to America than in chanting "Death to America." Afshin Molavi, born in Iran and fluent in Persian, traveled widely across his homeland, exploring the legacy...

cena: 64,97
    
The Soul of Iran: A Nation's Journey to Freedom
 The Innocents Abroad Mark Twain Leslie Feidler Michael Meyer 9780451530493
One of the most famous travel books ever written by an American, The Innocents Abroad is Mark Twain's irreverent and incisive commentary on nineteenth century Americans encountering the Old World. Come along for the ride as Twain and his unsuspecting travel companions visit the Azores, Tangiers, Paris, Rome, the Vatican, Genoa, Gibraltar, Odessa, Constantinople, Cairo, the Holy Land and...
cena: 37,02
    
The Innocents Abroad
ilość książek w kategorii: 605